<|newest| |older| |previous| |next| |profile|> <|note| |email| |rings| |guestbook| |layout| |host|>
<|2010-06-30| |1:19 p.m.|>

<|At least he smelled good!|>



The bewildered doctors and nurses kept ducking their heads into our little triage cubicle in the pediatric ER last night and smiling. Unlike the other patients who may have been wailing in pain or whimpering in fear or reeking of diarrhea and barf, my son was proudly singing, "Unica Naughty, she was so snotty, she went potty in her pants!" while the smell of a freesia glade plug-in wafted through our curtains. An hour earlier, AJ had decided that the air freshener/ night-light smelled so good he just had to taste it.

When I came out of the bathroom to find him sitting on his bedroom carpet with the little vial of purple scented oil in his mouth and him coughing I could feel my heart jump to my throat and skip a beat. I grabbed it away, stuck my finger down his throat and made him puke (which our golden retriever promptly gobbled up... disgusting, but it saved me a clean-up--thanks, dog)and dialed poison control, who told us to take him to the ER. Thankfully, he was fine-- after a couple of x-rays and a check-up and a snack of graham crackers and juice, they sent us home.


We nearly made it to AJ's second birthday without a trip to the ER, but last night he had to go and fuck up my perfect parenting record. Ah, well, at least he did it while we still have insurance!



<|previous| |next|>


- - 2010-07-03
At least he smelled good! - 2010-06-30
Screw Detroit - 2010-06-28
Visiting the Parental Units - 2010-06-14
Polishstreak2 talks to young Polishstreak - 2010-06-12